Textbook:
Essential Calculus: A One Semester Introduction to Calculus (4th draft) by B. Shelburne

Weekly Syllabus - Math 131 - Spring 2016

Week: Calender Dates Topic Reading Assignments - Due Date
1
Mon Jan 11
-
Fri Jan 15
M: Introduction and Course Overview
W: FOIL, Factoring and Linear Systems
F: Graphing and Linear Functions
M:
W: Unit 1
F: Unit 2
2
Mon Jan 18
-
Fri Jan 22
M: MLK Day - No Class
W: Quadratic Equations
F Functions
M:
W: Unit 2
F: Unit 3
3
Mon Jan 25
-
Fri Jan 29
M: Inverse & Composite Functions; Difference Quotients
W: Finite Limits
F: Test #1 (50 pts)
M: Unit 3
W: Unit 4
F:
4
Mon Feb 1
-
Fri Feb 5
M: Continuity
W: The Derivative
F: The Derivative (cont.)
M: Unit 4
W: Unit 5
F: Unit 5
5
Mon Feb 8
-
Fri Feb 12
M: Elementary Rules for Differentiation
W: Reciprocal and Square Root Rules
F: Product and Quotient Rules
M: Unit 6
W: Unit 6
F: Unit 7
6
Mon Feb 15
-
Fri Feb 19
M: Power Rule for Negative Exponents; 2nd Derivatives
W: Differentiation of Exponential and Logarithmic Functions
F: Tangnet Line Approximations
M: Unit 7
W: Unit 8
F: Unit 9
7
Mon Feb 22
-
Fri Feb 26
M: Chain Rule
W: Implicit Differentiation
F: Review for Test #2
M: Unit 10
W: Unit 11
F: Review Units 4 - 11
8
Mon Feb 29
-
Fri Mar 4
M: Test #2 (100 pts)
W: Related Rate Problems
F: Applications of 1st Derivative
M:
W: Unit 12
F: Unit 13
x
Mon Mar 7
-
Fri Mar 11
Spring Break Relax & Rest Up
9
Mon Mar 14
-
Fri Mar 18
M: Mean Value Theorem
W: Applications of the 2nd Derivative
F: Limits at Infinite and infinte Limits
M: Unit 14
W: Unit 15
F: Unit 16
10
Mon Mar 21
-
Fri Mar 25
M: Graphing Functions
W: Optimization
F: Good Friday - No Class
M: Unit 17
W: Unit 18
F:
11
Mon Mar 28
-
Fri Apr 1
M: Optimization
W: Anti-Differentiation
F: Test #3 (100 pts)
M: Unit 18
W: Unit 19
F: Review Units 12 - 18
12
Mon Apr 4
-
Fri Apr 8
M: Anti-Differentiation (cont.)
W: u-substitution
F: MAA Meeting - No Class
M: Unit 19
W: Unit 20
F:
13
Mon Apr 11
-
Fri Apr 15
M: Integration by Parts
W: Riemann Sums
F: The Definite Integral and the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus
M: Unit 21
W: Unit 22
F: Unit 23
14
Mon Apr 18
-
Fri Apr 22
M: The Definite Integral (cont.)
W: Properties of the Definite Integral
F: The Definite Integral - Applications
M: Unit 23
W: Unit 23
F: Unit 24
15
Mon Apr 25
-
Fri Apr 29
M: The Definite Integral - Applications
W: Review
F: Test #4 (100 pts)
M: Unit 24
W: Review Units 19 - 24
F:
16
Mon May 2
-
Fri May 5
M: Numerical Integration
W: Last Day of Class - Final Review
F:
M: Unit 25
W:
F:
Tuesday May 10
3:30 - 6:30 PM
Final Exam Review & Study